Life Journey, Music

Bethel in T-Minus One Hour

Journaling, trying to make sense of all I was hearing, seeing, feeling...

Journaling, trying to make sense of all I was hearing, seeing, feeling…

In about an hour, I go to my first service as an official Redding Bethelite.

This is kinda a big deal for many reasons, but it really all started 5 years ago in January of 2009. I was in transition and desperately needed to find peace, hope, direction, joy, trust, and Jesus. Fortunately, I stumbled upon the Hem of His Garment Healing conference back in Valparaiso, Indiana – this so impacted and ignited my spirit that my life was jolted onto a new trajectory. I bought Kim Walker’s Here Is My Song, listened on repeat though I didn’t truly FEEL like the lyrics I was singing along to, and began to let Papa change me, radically.

Yesterday, after scouring my possessions last week for that cd and finding zilch, I randomly pulled it out of the side door pocket in my car! I put it in, turned it up, and was totally blown away – God was singing His promises to me even then… 5 years ago, He was singing to my spirit songs of hope and promise if I would just keep following the path He’d laid out. And 5 years later, after restoring my own song (See: HERE), He’s answering the whispered wishes of my heart:

“I have found a peace that plows on through the storm
I have found a joy that jumps over sadness
I have found a love that lights up every room
I have found, I’ve found You
I have found a trust that teaches how to rest
I have found a grace that guides my by the hand
I have found a strength that stands like a mountain
I have found, I’ve found You”

(Kim Walker “I Have Found”)

Standard

Leave a Reply

