Uncategorized

Temples

The temple thing has been a bit disturbing since I’ve been here in Nepal…they’re everywhere, a clear and blatant sign of the hold the religion has on the people. They are beautiful, yet sad because many seem to be in a cage of some sort. Further, there is one right outside our home and one literally built into the wall at the office…almost mocking us somehow.

But I dreamt last night that I was asking God about it, and He said, “Well, aren’t YOU a temple of the Living God? You’re not in a cage, you roam freely. You, like Me, reach out to the people; the lifeless gods of the caged temples rely on people to reach out to them to give them value, power, and existence. They are bound to their location, but you can move freely, so the joke’s on them.” I awoke, entertained by God’s wit, and thinking about 1 Corinthians 6:19, “Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God?” When I looked this passage up for reference, I also saw 2 Corinthians 6:16, which totally completed the picture for me: “What agreement is there between the temple of God and idols? For we are the temple of the living God. As God has said: ‘I will live with them and walk among them, and I will be their God, and they will be my people.'” He’s active in us and through us, and He’s calling these people to Himself. So cool.

And, as a side reminder since I still don’t feel like I’m quite the person He should have sent, I am reminded of John Mark McMillan’s song “I am a Temple” .. take a listen, it’s good 🙂 And, reading those lyrics just really ministered to me.. funny how He knows just what we need.

Standard

One thought on “Temples

Leave a Reply

