Uncategorized

How I Woke Up

This morning just confirmed that God does speak to us…

I awoke panicking about a graphic design assignment that was due this morning that I had no idea how to do.  My impulse was to hop outta bed, make some coffee, and get right to creating as I thought it was going to take me ages to figure out.  However, the line from a DC Talk song popped into my head: “I spend my mornings with God before I hit the grind

I laughed and was like, “Ok, God, what would you have me read?” as I noticed my Bible in my bed an arm’s length away.  I immediately heard, “Matthew 17,” and was like, “Oh man.. Matthew?  I hate Matthew… but ok, God, whatever you want.”  As I reached for the Bible, I heard, “This is my daughter, in whom I am well-pleased.”  I laughed again, convinced that that had just been me making some sarcastic remark in my head about resigning to look up the chapter in Matthew.  However, I was floored by what I read when I opened the book….

“Matthew 17 – The Transfiguration

1After six days Jesus took with him Peter, James and John the brother of James, and led them up a high mountain by themselves. 2There he was transfigured before them. His face shone like the sun, and his clothes became as white as the light. 3Just then there appeared before them Moses and Elijah, talking with Jesus.

4Peter said to Jesus, “Lord, it is good for us to be here. If you wish, I will put up three shelters—one for you, one for Moses and one for Elijah.”

5While he was still speaking, a bright cloud enveloped them, and a voice from the cloud said, This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased. Listen to him!”

6When the disciples heard this, they fell facedown to the ground, terrified. 7But Jesus came and touched them. “Get up,” he said. “Don’t be afraid.” 8When they looked up, they saw no one except Jesus.

9As they were coming down the mountain, Jesus instructed them, “Don’t tell anyone what you have seen, until the Son of Man has been raised from the dead.”

I HAD NO IDEA THAT THIS WAS THE CHAPTER IN THE BIBLE WHERE GOD SAID THAT!!!!  I’ve never read Matthew all the way before, and I hadn’t even been aware of the transfiguration story until someone referred to it in New Testament class a few weeks ago.. there’s no way that I could have known that “This is my son in whom I am well pleased” was in the chapter that I’d just felt like I was supposed to read.  Oddly enough, He goes on in that chapter to tell his disciples that if they had the faith of a mustard seed, they could move mountains.. God told me in that moment to let this little encounter build that faith in me.

I have to tell you, guys.. if you truly quiet yourself long enough to hear what God might be telling you, He WILL reveal Himself to you in the way that will best speak to you.  He just happens to know that I relate to people through witty quotes and one-liners.. lol  I have been struggling for YEARS now, feeling like God didn’t speak to me and that I couldn’t, no matter how hard I tried, have a relationship with He who was silent.  Uh, duh.. it’s because I wasn’t listening!

Standard

Leave a Reply

